“BURN YOUR OFFICE CHAIR” – For Leaders and Pastors

03b9fdfbba480ebcda74b76ce8545b0b

For Pastors and Leaders Who Want To Make A Legit Impact ONLY: “BURN YOUR OFFICE CHAIR” James Washburn

So you think you’re going to make a difference sitting in the office everyday, all day huh? Here is my advice…BURN YOUR OFFICE CHAIR if it’s THAT comfortable. I mean, I love me a good office chair but if I can’t get my butt off of it and DO something to impact the Kingdom, then go buy me some matches bro.

GET UP & GET OUT

“You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden; nor does anyone light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on the lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven. (Matthew 5:14-16 NASB)

Get up and get out there on the streets. Another words, DO some ground work. Why are you hiding the light in office? I don’t care if your ministry is in the ghetto (as is my bro Jon Jackson) or your work is in Beverly Hills or even Miami Beach. DO something and meet someone! The Holy Spirit has an appointment for you and someone, so don’t miss it sitting in your musty office everyday “reading books.” Don’t get me wrong I read book, a lot of books. I don’t know everything and I want to learn from the best but books are not leading anyone to Jesus. Nope, only me. My soft chair and comfy office is not picking up trash in the community, collecting diapers for the Pregnancy Care Center, painting at the school, feeding the poor, ministering as a chaplain for the local public school, creating events etc.,etc.YOU put your LIST of ministry projects down. Do you have a list of outside ministry work?

BLOGGING BUMS

Believe or not there are plenty of ministry bums out there. Bloggers, here we go. Nothing wrong with blogging. I like to occasionally write a piece. I’m writing for my bro. Jon’s blog write now. So don’t hate but check what I’m fixing to tell you. The other day I read a tweet from a very well known dude (like Lady Gaga status in the christian world, whatever that means but I won’t mention his name) who said he had written 10 blog posts before he had done anything else that day. Really? 10 blog posts… not impressed. Sounds like office chair syndrome. Quit using God’s time, ALL the time to just sit in a chair, write junk on a blog that God’s giving to you anyways. It’s ok to blog but don’t be a blogging bum. I still love you.

STUDY TIME

Pastors we have to study. Your excused. Nevermind. Don’t use studying as an excuse. Study deep, study long but don’t ONLY study. Make time for others. I mean dang, make time for your community. Or make time for study and BE in your community. You know what I mean.

IMPACT

YOU are going to IMPACT people. Get out there and let God do what He does best. He puts us in uncomfortable situations, then impact happens through us. He uses us. Wow, grab ahold of THAT TRUTH. Eternal destinations change. Communities change. Families change. Now that is impressive. Leaders lead from the front, not from their office chair. Burn that chair if you need to.

image

James Washburn is the Student Ministries Pastor at Living Word Chapel located in Tucson Arizona. James is married, has one daughter and enjoys Crossfit.

Jon’s thoughts, 

The fact that we have to cover this topic of getting out and doing something is a travesty in itself, but its real. I make a point to spend a minimum of 2plus hours a day, 5 days a week, talking to people in person outside of church. Pastoring is people work. This means we need to get out of the office and talk to people.

I really believe the reason why so many pastors are stuck in previous cultures rather than being relevant today is because they don’t know anyone in this culture.

To be a pastor of people you must be one of the people. Burning your chair is probably a good start for some, matches can found on aisle 7.

Leave a comment

Filed under For Leaders

Leave a Reply

