Take time to pray

Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words. Romans 8:26

Take some time to pray, right now.

The Church today has much to say about prayer. A simple Amazon search for books on prayer will take over your afternoon. Although many have written on prayer, we don’t pray…myself included.

Talking to God is the source of power in our life, yet for many prayer is just something we don’t do on a consistent basis. As I have spent several hours counseling & pastoring last week, I found myself sick, drained and with no voice since Sunday.

Taking away my voice is emasculating to me. Not being able to talk is humbling. Not being able to talk is challenging…here’s why.

Since Sunday I have been quiet. While quiet I have been praying. Instead of talking, teaching, counseling, and answering my iPhone that even now as I write this is ringing…I have spent more time just talking to God.

Here is what I have learned since getting sick and losing my voice:

  • I need to shut-up more. 

Don’t get me wrong, I love talking and as a pastor, I talk alot. But the last few days it has been hard to communicate, so I have done more listening to people and have had shorter, concentrated answers. Personally, I have known this for years but this week have been reminded that “leaders listen.

  • I need to pray more each hour

I challenged myself the last few days to pray each hour, even if it was short. I seem to be always busy. I don’t sit around much, even when I do sit I am normally on the phone or an Apple product is on my lap. So since I was listening more and it hurts like swallowing glass to talk, I would pray. Just start talking to God. I find my thoughts better. My attitude sharper. My spirit more refreshed. Less of Jon and more Jesus.

Sometimes we know we need to pray, but life seems to run us over and we just don’t. Hopefully, you’ll be smarter than me and get this lesson so as not to get your voice taken away for a couple of days.

Prayer is worship through deliberate communication. So go take some time to pray.

-jon

What lessons have you learned from prayer? What has helped/hindered your prayer walk with Jesus? Please post your comments below. Blessings! 

Leave a comment

Filed under Lessons from life

Leave a Reply

