Groceries Save Lives…


The phone rang, I answered…

“I never told you this Pastor Jon, but last year when you came by the house I was gonna kill myself, the gun was on the table, you knocked on the door and brought me those groceries…you saved my life.”

That’s real.

Two years ago, Keiki and I were going thru a very tough time in our family, ministry & financial lives. It was during this time that God impressed on me to be nice to a guy who looked like he needed it. So I told Keiki that we would go get some groceries and would give it to him and his family.

I remember the day very well. I was depressed. I was negative. I was complaining on the inside and my demeanor showed it on the outside…I wasn’t happy with the problems that were seemingly attacking me on every side. It was there at that moment that I was convicted about helping someone less off than myself. I found him, Keiki got the groceries, to his house I went.

Its now two years later. The man has only come to my church a few times and that was two years ago. I sat in my office working on a coming sermon series and the phone rang, “…you saved me life…” followed.

“Whoever seeks to preserve his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life will keep it.” -Jesus

Many times I find myself down and even depressed when things don’t go my way. This is because at these moments I am only thinking of myself. When I get my eyes off myself, back on Jesus and what His plan is for me…grace happens.

Saturday Keiki made cookies & prepared some presents, I gave them away to hurting people…gotta go, my phone is ringing.

-jon

Leave a comment

Filed under Lessons from life

Leave a Reply

